rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

the next great singapore food tour

with 2 comments

Before I left Singapore we had another Singapore Food Tour (seriously, you could probably have an infinite amount of these in Singapore – there are so many places to eat).

Actually, wait. I have a few, unrelated things to purge from my brain.

– Yesterday I found a dead frog on the table in one of the conference rooms at work. Dis.gust.ing. How did it get there? No one knows.

– I am totally obsessed with watching Top Chef All Stars. I DVR each episode and then watch it about 5 million times. No, not just because of Dale Talde. (Although it’s a nice bonus.) The challenges are freakin’ crazy this season and you got some pretty badass chefs on the show. Except for Jamie who keeps flying under the radar…

– My brother got me the Momofuku book for Christmas and now I really, really want to try the cereal milk custard and the ramen.

– I’m leaving for a trip to Asia in a few days and I’m not packed at all.

– I wore boots over my jeans for the first time 2 days ago. I’m still recovering.

– I hate this laptop.

Okay, I feel better. Where were we?

Singapore. Food Tours. Let’s talk about it.

The usual suspects (the bloggers: myself and Nags; the Singaporeans: Melina and Isaac; the eater: Pui) coordinated another round of Singaporean eatin’ last Spring. We started where all food tours should start – Chinatown.

We trekked deep into the Chinatown Hawker Center (just above Smith Street) to gorge on small plates to whet the appetite. First up: chee cheong fan – chewy, toothy, ricey rolls with chili and hoisin-y sauces.

This one had a similar black sauce but was starchy (maybe taro?).

Some lovely dumplings of course:

Washed down with fresh soy milk.

We learned from our first food tour to not overindulge on any dish especially in the early part of the day. Pace yourself. It’s what your mama would remind you to do.

Stop #2 was actually down the ways from my ‘hood on the East Coast.

We stopped at 49 Katong Laksa for… wait for it… laksa.

Even though it’s been months I still remember the taste of this laksa. Rich with coconut milk, briny with shrimp, spicy like curry. A few greens for pep. Piping hot and lovely even on a muggy Singapore afternoon. Reminds me of palabok actually.

Someone ordered otah. Not  me, obviously. NEXT.

We ordered soup so we’re allowed to indulge in you tiao. Personally, don’t think this is necessary when you’re eating a soup as heavy as laksa BUT if I’m getting offered an oil stick I’m gonna take it.

Now for the star of the show.

Hi there bak kut teh.

It looks so unassuming doesn’t it? It’s not even… colorful. It’s some pale ass piece of meat and some clear broth.

Then you eat it and you’re like, SHUT UP. What IS THAT?? There’s crack in the broth. Crack and white pepper and probably some other spices. Whatever. It’s super good. Like warm you up from the inside good. I don’t know why you’d need to be warmed up from the inside in Singapore but still.

Yah ok we ordered other stuff too. I don’t really remember any of it. Looks like tofu skins and greens and some crispy shallots business.

Go try some meat bone soup. We had ours here at Founder Bak Kut Teh in Balestier.

Last course is dessert which we trekked over to the Beach Rd area to enjoy.

We were aiming for local flavored ice cream at Tom’s Palette (100 Beach Rd #01-25 Shaw Leisure Gallery). That particular day they didn’t have anything *super* local which was a little sad.

I had half scoops of salted caramel and something called Granny’s favorite. I recall the salted caramel being the more tasty of the two. I found the flavors to be a tad sweet for my liking though. You would think that ice cream would be plenty for dessert but nooooooooooo.

Must get fried things now.

Goreng pisang are fried bananas with a sweet, crispy, netted batter. The bananas end up melted, almost custard-like, post-fry.

This madness is from Kee’s Crispy Goreng Pisang Golden Mile Food Centre 01-90.

A little food binge, a little brain purge. You’re welcome.

Written by joann

December 24, 2010 at 3:34 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ah the one i sadly sadly missed. btw, u stopping by SG right?

    nags

    December 24, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    • no im not this time around. 😦 im aiming for summer after the ruthao baby is born.

      joann

      December 24, 2010 at 4:13 pm


Leave a Reply

