rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

kim moh beef noodle, singapore

with one comment

Gary is one of those rare Singapore specimens.

He has a car.

A car that takes him to places that are otherwise arduous journeys for those of us relegated to the (actually pretty awesome) public transportation system in Singapore. As a last hurrah Gary took me to one of the randomest noodle joints ever. It resulted in me being: grateful (yay a car), confused (where the hell are we), stuffed (oh wow so good), and angry (thanks for sharing your favorite food place as I’m leaving and will probably never be able to eat here again).

Did I mention that it used to be a Western themed tavern?

This place is actually near my old hood at Marine Parade. It’s nestled within a full on HDB complex so you’d never stumble onto it otherwise. These types of places are the ones that you have to rely on word of mouth to find. It’s just like Uncle Leong’s up in ButterCrabville. You get there and you’re thinking –  how on earth would I have ever found this place?

Anyhow let’s get cracking. You’ll start off with the usuals here – hot tea, peanuts, chili sauce.

I made Gary do the ordering obviously. We had some of this sliced fried chicken with almonds and a lemon sauce. It was an “oh no I might finish this plate and I’m pretty sure this is really, really bad for me” kind of dish.

We ordered veggies to pretend that we’re healthy.

This claypot dish was very nice. Peppery and saucy with cooked cucumbers. I think this was pork but don’t quote me on that.

And ta da…

One dead beautiful bowl of beef noodle. Saucy, sweet, salty, tender beef over fresh rice noodles, topped with cilantro. Don’t wear white. You’ll be slurping up the noodles and making a hot mess of yourself.

Kim Moh Beef Noodle: 5000F Marine  Parade Rd #01-22 Laguna Park, Singapore

Written by joann

December 28, 2010 at 4:14 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I went there just recently and you are right, the food is just delicious and very original. It is not pretentious and very cheap , compared to other nicer restaurants. I just love that fact that the food is simple, nice and traditional. The beef noodle is just awesome. I can only wish Singaporeans support original food like these because so many traditional recipes are lost to ‘factory made’ products!

    Andrew Dilollo

    April 12, 2012 at 8:51 pm


Leave a Reply

