rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

burma superstar, san francisco

leave a comment »

I went to Burma Superstar and took bad pictures. Let me share them with you.

Silver lining: at least I’m blogging. That’s got to be some sort of miracle, right? The camera that I usually use is completely full of pictures and completely out of battery juice. It’s sitting forlornly on my dining room table amidst the detritus that gets shoved into my mailbox (don’t you hate that crap?). I’m sure someday I will clean up the sd card and find the battery charger. Someday…

Back to Burma Superstar.

I first heard of Burma Superstar in my first months  in Singapore. Random, I know. Danielle (a fellow Bay Area transplant), said that thunder tea rice reminded her of the tea leaf salad at Burma Superstar. I had no idea what she was talking about but I nodded and continued on enjoying my bowl of pulverized tea leaf and veggies.

Fast forward to the present. I was thinking about how it’s been a really long time since I’ve had thunder tea rice. I was also headed up to the city for a performance of Yoni Ki Baat which is inspired by the Vagina Monologues but from an India perspective.

Er. Back to Burma Superstar.

We ordered the tea leaf salad which comes to the table looking lovely with all of the components in little separate mounds. The server does a little Vanna White show and tell and then mixes the whole thing like crazy so you end up with the picture above. It’s very crunchy from the lettuce and generous helpings of fried garlic chips. It also has a bit of fermented tang but I thought the tea flavor was pretty mild. Definitely not as tea-y as thunder tea rice. While it didn’t satisfy that particular craving, it was good nonetheless (although just a little bit oilier than it needed to be).

This second terrible picture is garlic noodles with duck. I’m always wary of garlic noodles for fear that they will be sort of bland or boring. These were actually very good. Good roasty, toasty garlic flavor, scallions for crunch, and slices of duck strewn about. Very nice.

Our (there were 3 of us) last dish was chicken dahl. Super tender chicken in a stew with yellow lentils. I was expecting something thicker and more dahl-y with more lentils but the heft of the dish was more like adobo. It was pretty aromatic although not quite in your face as a straight curry.

We went here at 5pm on a Saturday and had no wait time. I hear it gets super busy during the dinner rush hour and they don’t take reservations. For these 3 dishes, 2 portions of rice, and a Thai tea we paid $50 (including tip). Def good enough for another whirl to try the rest of the menu.

Burma Superstar: 309 Clement Street San Francisco, California 94118

Written by joann

March 7, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

