rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

more themes! hello kitty cafe!

with 5 comments

Ladies, want to know how to torture your guy friends?

Take them to Hello Kitty Cafe.

As with most of the places I visited in Taipei, I have no idea where this is so you’re on your own should you need to hunt the location down. You might get lucky if Jess stops by and adds a comment with the address to some of these places. What I do remember is that this is near the really big Sogo at the MRT station that sells deliciously smelling Baker Boy buns.

While we waited for the rest of our party we cooed over the many fancy cakes on display. This is very Capt Obvious of me but Hello Kitty’s mug is EVERYWHERE. The entire place (including the men’s bathroom, per Sherwin) is pink. Kitty’s signature bow is festooned upon every inch of the place.

If you like cute cartoon characters (yes), pink stuff (yes), bows (yes), things that match (yes), and cute food (yes), then you will love it here.

We made reservations here which requires that each guest spend at least NT300 (about USD10). This isn’t too hard since most of the set desserts run slightly over NT300 and included a dessert plate and a drink.

Fancy presentation is key. I ordered a cheesecake. To the left is a sculpture of sliced strawberries and kiwi with dark chocolate accents. The cake is decorated with a glazed strawberry, more dark chocolate, and a pink chocolate Hello Kitty face.

Zoom in here of just the cake. It was super dense like biting into a big block of cream cheese. Not overly sweet though. The crust was thick and buttery and matched the density of the heavy cake.

The other plates were decorated just as fancily.

This was some green tea raspberry business that Jeff begrudingly ordered. I thought it a bit strange tasting. If the other cake was super thick and dense, this cake was very light with no volume at all. I’m sounding a bit like Goldilocks, huh?

More bows. This time on Jess’s strawberry tart. This was pretty good with lots of big, sweet strawberries and a cakey bit underneath.

Mixed berry and tropical teas with pink straws, obvs. A very thick drink. Not tea-y at all. Pass.

We thought we were done and then the servers brought in Kitty jello. Why you would need more sweets with your dessert escapes me but the blobs of strawberry (?) jello were kinda cute. It came with a few slices of fresh fruit too. You’ll be wobbly from the sugar rush headache by this part of the meal.

Lastly, Hello Kitty’s ear tastes pretty good. She’s classy though. That’s gold leaf on her little bow there.

Written by joann

October 22, 2008 at 11:31 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. where is the hello kitty cafe located?

    Charlotte

    October 25, 2008 at 10:22 am

  2. 90 Da’an Road, Sec 1 Taipei, Taiwan 🙂

    joann

    October 26, 2008 at 11:28 pm

  3. OMG!! I WANNA GO THERE SO BAD!!

    Lada

    November 5, 2008 at 1:01 pm

  4. This is so heaven for me ;D I would LOVE it if someone toke me there, hehe.

    AnnjeanetteLynne:)

    September 6, 2009 at 12:50 pm

  5. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers


Leave a comment